Ranger-Forums - The Ultimate Ford Ranger Resource

Ranger-Forums - The Ultimate Ford Ranger Resource (https://www.ranger-forums.com/)
-   Audio & Video Tech (https://www.ranger-forums.com/audio-video-tech-41/)
-   -   Ultra-Gauge Support/Ordering Thread (https://www.ranger-forums.com/audio-video-tech-41/ultra-gauge-support-ordering-thread-118416/)

dixie_boysles 01-26-2011 06:24 AM

yeah it is, i think that the UG is the perfect size!

01RangerEdge 01-26-2011 07:19 AM

I love the size. Perfectly readable, but not distracting

morris 01-26-2011 11:31 AM

mine should be in today or tomorrow. i ordered it friday and the notice said it was shipping out monday.

dixie_boysles 01-26-2011 11:33 AM

sweet!

SteelDirigible 01-26-2011 11:59 AM

mine supposedly shipped today

Taylor 01-26-2011 04:20 PM


Originally Posted by TrePaul86 (Post 1803176)
Wirelessly posted (Droid X)

Wrong thread bud.

This is an Ultra-Gauge thread.... Not a ScanGauge thread.

oops. My bad. I meant ultra gauge.

so scott?

SteelDirigible 01-31-2011 07:18 PM

i got mine. still got to calibrate for mpg's and all that, pretty cool as is though.
got to say, the $9 rebate right now is tough to get haha you have to take a test on the thing.

"According to the above, when can the mounting position be adjusted by grasping UltraGauge versus grasping the neck of the mount?"

the answer is for fine ball swivel movements, by the way. it's like they want to make sure you know how to use it or you can't get the rebate. oh well. mounted pics soon.

ALSO: if you buy this with the rebate, when you put the gauge in the first time, or whenever, just be sure to do this and write down the number, you need it for the rebate:

http://www.ultra-gauge.com/ultragaug...ctory_test.htm

http://www.ultra-gauge.com/ultragaug...ctory_test.JPG

t5cents 01-31-2011 07:38 PM

i have a problem on mine. i have had it for a couple of months and my fuel level has always been off. sounds like i need to do something like trevor is talking about but im not sure. i have a 18 gal tank...and i have put in like 18.2 before when i was like about to run out, literally. but i think the 1998's dont have the speed sensor go through the obd2 or something because it cant read my speed or any of my MPG stuff. im assuming because it needs to read the speed to calculate distance traveled/fuel used. but any way i just use the fuel used and fuel level and can kinda calculate it manually by my trip meter and fuel used. but i usually fill up (like put in 17-18 gals) and the UG still says i have like 2 gals left or so. any one know how to fix it. i think it reads how much fuel has traveled through the injectors since it cant seem to directly read the fuel level with out you telling it how much you have put in. but im not sure on the whole injector thing so dont quote me on that. thanks

Blhde 02-04-2011 04:59 AM

Who deleted the threads over on rps?

SteelDirigible:

Thanks for the heads up on that monster code.

dixie_boysles 02-04-2011 06:43 AM

bump

SteelDirigible 02-04-2011 08:10 AM


Originally Posted by Blhde (Post 1808071)
Who deleted the threads over on rps?

SteelDirigible:

Thanks for the heads up on that monster code.

well... i was wrong about scott NOT sharing with RPS.... it's in the A/V section and since I copied it word for word I had a mod delete my thread. his thread is in the a/v section. i'm such a n00b...

SteelDirigible 02-04-2011 01:41 PM

4 Attachment(s)

Originally Posted by TrePaul86 (Post 1803259)
I'll be waiting on that mount..

the wait is over.... basically i took the included mount, pulled the swivel part off the flexible mount (the trick to getting it off is to pull really hard)

Attachment 89693

Then I cut the bottom square section off, because it stuck a little too far out, and used 3M outdoor tape (which I used on an emblem that hasn't budged. really strong stuff)

and just stuck that part right to my dash.

Attachment 89694

So you'll notice I still have the swivel adjustment, it's not mounted in my windshield, and it's not blocking anything.
In the pics, it appears the shifter partially blocks the view. True, but this is only in park, and even then it's not bad. I have full access to the rear buttons, and ran the cable behind the radio bezel and down.

Attachment 89695

Attachment 89696

I still need to calibrate the mileage though and DANGIT i forgot to get the factory code for the rebate.... oh well guess that means I get another trip out to the truck.

01RangerEdge 02-04-2011 01:49 PM

How easily can you read it from a "normal driving position"?

I'm not sure how long that tape will stay sticky

Looks great though

SteelDirigible 02-04-2011 02:17 PM

it's real easy to read.

and i've had that tape holding an emblem for almost a year with not trouble, granted a metal surface is much easier to stick to and i used more, but it's made to last. anyway i think its better than trying to make holes in my dash. i have plenty of tape left if it falls, so i'll just stick it back again.

http://www.scotchbrand.com/wps/porta...glBBM9D4MMLWbl

TrePaul86 02-10-2011 03:32 PM

1 Attachment(s)
For those wanting a blue UG, here's what I came up with:

Attachment 89234

The rectangle needed to be cut is 7.5mmx3.9mm. I bought some transparent blue film off eBay for $5/shipped and put this together in about 45 mins (including removal of the UG from the truck and install back in the truck). Really easy, now it matches my blue LED interior much better!

SteelDirigible 02-10-2011 03:39 PM

mine fell off, by the way... have to use something else to stick it on there...

Briggslite 02-13-2011 11:24 PM

This looks sweet but how accurate are the mpg calculations?

SteelDirigible 02-13-2011 11:32 PM

it was fairly close to what i expected, even without calibrating, i still haven't calibrated mine though. ignore my pictures where it says 6.1 mpg's though, i totally screwed up the calibration. it was pretty close for a while to what i thought it should be.

sabers1361 02-14-2011 12:10 AM

looks really sweet i will be getting one prob when i get my tax money back sweet stuff. one question tho could you take this out and put it in somone elses car or truck to read codes for them?

morris 02-14-2011 12:16 AM

yes they are interchangeable from car to car as long as you have OBD2

TrePaul86 02-14-2011 12:18 PM


Originally Posted by Briggslite (Post 1813154)
This looks sweet but how accurate are the mpg calculations?

Mines spot on. It's calibrated for MPH and MPG. Used my GPS to set my calibration for a distance on MPH (matched how far I had gone with a GPS to a tenth of a mile to what my computer registered). Then for the MPG you calibrate how many gallons you put in at the pump on a fill up or something vs. how many gallons the computer thinks you used. Mines set for a 16.75gal tank, because I've NEVER put in any more than that and that's on dead empty. It really won't matter how big you set your tank as long as you never use more than the max you set the tank size at.

01RangerEdge 02-14-2011 12:20 PM


Originally Posted by TrePaul86 (Post 1813378)
Mines spot on. It's calibrated for MPH and MPG. Used my GPS to set my calibration for a distance on MPH (matched how far I had gone with a GPS to a tenth of a mile to what my computer registered). Then for the MPG you calibrate how many gallons you put in at the pump on a fill up or something vs. how many gallons the computer thinks you used. Mines set for a 16.75gal tank, because I've NEVER put in any more than that and that's on dead empty. It really won't matter how big you set your tank as long as you never use more than the max you set the tank size at.

Do you really need to calibrate it? I just went to vehicle info and set it for 17 gallons

TrePaul86 02-14-2011 12:22 PM


Originally Posted by SteelDirigible (Post 1811452)
mine fell off, by the way... have to use something else to stick it on there...

If you want it there... I'd recommend drilling a hold in that location, and pushing it through the backside and using that nut that came with it to keep it from moving around to keep in pulled against that dash piece. That's really the only way you're gonna get that to stick. The dash pieces aren't smooth, so it's gonna take something really sticky to keep that on there; especially if you've ever used any kind of armor-all (sp?)

TrePaul86 02-14-2011 12:26 PM


Originally Posted by 01RangerEdge (Post 1813380)
Do you really need to calibrate it? I just went to vehicle info and set it for 17 gallons

Yeah, because the computer doesn't compute on the fly like the UG does, it takes an average. So in order to get an accurate MPG calculation, you need to do what I suggested above. Even if you go into it and used someone elses MPG factor, it won't work because every truck is going to use a different amount of fuel depending on mods.

Like I said, plug in the UG and fill up, go into the fuel menu and hit "fill up tank" or whatever it is. Then it'll start calculating how many gallons you've used since the fill up. An a few days go fill up again. Go into the calibration menu after you fill up and adjust how many gallons you added at the pump vs what the computer said you used (gallon wise) in that menu. Match those up and go back into the fuel menu and hit "tank full" (or whatever it says for the fill up feature). That will make sure you're set for how many gallons you're actually using on the fly and average wise.

01RangerEdge 02-14-2011 12:30 PM

I didn't really think about it like that. Thanks for the tip


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:28 PM.


© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands