Aussie Install thread - Ranger-Forums - The Ultimate Ford Ranger Resource


Drivetrain Tech General discussion of drivetrain for the Ford Ranger.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 07-22-2010
t5cents's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Eureka, CA
Posts: 1,521
Aussie Install thread

ok so mu aussie is going to be here prety soon hopefully...lol. anyway i got hte diff pulled last night..what a pain in the *** by myself with a sprained shoulder..lol but i got it out and pulled the cover and it looks like light chocolate milk lol...but there is no rust or any thing so i should be fine and ill just have to extend that breather tube...here is some pics

dana 35 vs dana 30

Name:  0721001831.jpg
Views: 1
Size:  115.5 KB

yum!!

Name:  0721001842.jpg
Views: 2
Size:  115.3 KB

Name:  0721001842a.jpg
Views: 1
Size:  57.5 KB

and a couple of my broken CV...

Name:  0718001659.jpg
Views: 2
Size:  106.4 KB

Name:  0718001842.jpg
Views: 2
Size:  70.1 KB

through the boot

Name:  0718001907.jpg
Views: 3
Size:  96.9 KB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-22-2010
zabeard's Avatar
who?
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 26,045
just a little bit of water in there, should be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2010
t5cents's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Eureka, CA
Posts: 1,521
ya its not bad...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2010
rangerboy101's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Winchester, Va
Posts: 8,187
So where's the pics of the Aussie install? haha
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2010
t5cents's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Eureka, CA
Posts: 1,521
still waiting on it...lol
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-24-2010
t5cents's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Eureka, CA
Posts: 1,521
ok well i got it and have it half way installed...i need help. i have the thrust washers and the axle gears installed. and the ring gear side cam gear with the spacer for that side in. now here is where my problem is...i cant get the other cam gear assembly installed. there is not enough room between the othe cam gear and the axle gear for it to fit in there. did any one else have this problem? what do you think it might be? thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-24-2010
t5cents's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Eureka, CA
Posts: 1,521
here are some pics

Name:  PICT5128.jpg
Views: 2
Size:  141.5 KB

Name:  PICT5129.jpg
Views: 1
Size:  136.3 KB

Name:  PICT5130.jpg
Views: 3
Size:  141.5 KB

Name:  PICT5131.jpg
Views: 2
Size:  159.0 KB

Name:  PICT5132.jpg
Views: 1
Size:  102.4 KB

Name:  PICT5133.jpg
Views: 1
Size:  83.7 KB

Name:  PICT5134.jpg
Views: 2
Size:  134.7 KB

Name:  PICT5135.jpg
Views: 1
Size:  162.2 KB

this isnt wide enough
Name:  PICT5136.jpg
Views: 3
Size:  158.2 KB

for this
Name:  PICT5137.jpg
Views: 2
Size:  142.3 KB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-24-2010
RazorsEDGE's Avatar
There's no lifeguard in the gene pool
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 7,501
I personally didn't have a problem like this with mine but I believe Bob had this problem with his. I think he shaved a small amount of the flat side so it would clear. You should try pm'ing him if you haven't already.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-24-2010
brianjwilson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 3,650
Can you pull the axle further out to make room? Did you try cleaning out the assembly goo and prying them apart (pushing other parts together)?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-25-2010
t5cents's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Eureka, CA
Posts: 1,521
who is bob? the rwenzing guy? what do u mean by pull the axle out further? and th carrier was clean but tomorrow im going to try to get it as clean as possible cause i really dont need much room...and y iv tryed prying everything apart in there to get some room if that is what u mean and it didnt work...i tried tapping it in wiht a hammer and i got it some of hte way but i was too afraid to go any further because i dont want ot mess any thing up..lol i think im going to call aussie on mon and figure out what i can do...like grinding that one piece a little or if i just need ot tap it in or what...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-25-2010
RazorsEDGE's Avatar
There's no lifeguard in the gene pool
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 7,501
Quote:
Originally Posted by t5cents View Post
who is bob? the rwenzing guy? what do u mean by pull the axle out further? and th carrier was clean but tomorrow im going to try to get it as clean as possible cause i really dont need much room...and y iv tryed prying everything apart in there to get some room if that is what u mean and it didnt work...i tried tapping it in wiht a hammer and i got it some of hte way but i was too afraid to go any further because i dont want ot mess any thing up..lol i think im going to call aussie on mon and figure out what i can do...like grinding that one piece a little or if i just need ot tap it in or what...
Yeah sorry. rwenzing
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-25-2010
t5cents's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Eureka, CA
Posts: 1,521
for some reason i cant pm him...or leave a visitor message...wtf
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-25-2010
RazorsEDGE's Avatar
There's no lifeguard in the gene pool
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 7,501
Well I guess he turned his messaging off. Maybe he'll see this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-25-2010
KLC's Avatar
KLC KLC is offline
RF Veteran
iTrader: (29)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 13,115
Another PM sent.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-25-2010
t5cents's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Eureka, CA
Posts: 1,521
well i got it in..jsut said **** it and hit it in with the dead blow hemmer...got every thing in. now i just need to get my other cv shaft that is soposed to be in tomorrow to do the spin test...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-25-2010
green99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: OR
Posts: 199
that same thing happened to me. i tried to get ahold of aussie through e mail and got no response. i ended up putting sand paper on my work bench and sanding the side gear down a little at a time until it fit. i still had to beat it in with a hammer and a block of wood. funny thing was even with it that tight my center gap was still a hair to big, but a havent had any problems with it. good luck
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-25-2010
brianjwilson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 3,650
I used a BFH to get the center pin of my aussie in. I had to install the locker the first time (in the 31 spline 8.8) without side gear shims because it would not fit. It killed the locker after a few months, aussie sent a new one and the only way I could put it together was by hammering the center pin in. It felt so wrong, but it worked awesome after that!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-25-2010
BILTRITE BULLIES's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NM
Posts: 557
well looks like you got it!!! hope every thing works for ya
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-25-2010
t5cents's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Eureka, CA
Posts: 1,521
ya it was weird...my spacing from the spacers to the center pin were like .001 too big..but it still didnt want to fit in...but my final spacing ended up being like .164 and .170 is the biggest it can be.....hopefully it all works out...

Name:  0725001209.jpg
Views: 2
Size:  141.4 KB

Name:  0725001324.jpg
Views: 2
Size:  101.2 KB
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-26-2010
t5cents's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Eureka, CA
Posts: 1,521
well the CV isnt going to be in till tomorrow so another day of waiting
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 07-27-2010
t5cents's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Eureka, CA
Posts: 1,521
ok got every thing back in the truck and working...cant wait to go test it out tomorrow after work...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodbye L/S, Rear Aussie Install 05blackranger Drivetrain Tech 9 11-25-2011 07:53 PM
Fx4wannabe01: What's this kid up to? Tease 4.1 (Aussie Locker install) Fx4wannabe01 Drivetrain Tech 51 03-05-2009 10:00 AM
Aussie Locker?? cory07ranger4x4 Drivetrain Tech 52 02-19-2008 02:39 AM
Aussie Locker Install brianjwilson Drivetrain Tech 8 10-01-2007 12:53 PM
Before I order the Aussie locker..... l2en Drivetrain Tech 49 05-11-2007 02:48 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:24 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.