034x4 Solid Axle Swap Thread - Page 34 - Ranger-Forums - The Ultimate Ford Ranger Resource


Project Logs For detailed builds specific to the Ford Ranger, one thread per vehicle please.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #826  
Old 07-01-2007
HighRollerII's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 10,066
i dunno the exact answer to your question...

but when Jey did his..he used the stock transfercase i think..i dont ever remember him swapin that out..

hope that helped lol..

if not i KNOW somebody will ring in with the right answer cough cough Andrew cough cough
Reply With Quote
  #827  
Old 07-01-2007
redranger4.0's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Firey depths
Posts: 15
jey built a doubler but I dont know if he ever got around to installing it.
Reply With Quote
  #828  
Old 07-01-2007
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North GA
Posts: 590
to my knowledge never installed, nor do i think he finished it.. he had the case to do it though...
Reply With Quote
  #829  
Old 07-01-2007
zabeard's Avatar
who?
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 26,045
plug the vacuum line and use the transfer case. it should still work with no issues.

use locking hubs or live axle.
Reply With Quote
  #830  
Old 07-02-2007
RF Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
01 Rangers should have a live axle front... mine did.
Reply With Quote
  #831  
Old 07-06-2007
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: barrington
Posts: 1
Another quick question. i know most of the sas guys use yota steering boxs. i know with fabication you can use all diffrent kinds but what would fit/make the most sence that is a beefer one say lets say a ford 150 250 or even 350?
Reply With Quote
  #832  
Old 07-06-2007
HighRollerII's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 10,066
anythin will work but its gotta mount to the outside of the frame rail..there isnt much room on the inside..

im going to be runnin an F350 box..something a little more bigger..then a yota box..
Reply With Quote
  #833  
Old 07-06-2007
RF Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
Yep anything you wanna use can be used. I'm not particularly sure WHY people use IFS 'yota boxes so often though.
Reply With Quote
  #834  
Old 09-16-2007
Yomie's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Biloxi, MS
Posts: 114
It soean't ahve to mount on the outside of the frame rail, i'm running a F-Series box (150/250/350) on the inside of the frame, you just have to move some stuff, i also had to use a different lower rad. hose to get it to fit
Reply With Quote
  #835  
Old 09-16-2007
mazda98's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: dalton,ga.
Posts: 550
it's been a while sice i have seen you yomie,did you ever finish your ex???if so do you have any pic's??
Reply With Quote
  #836  
Old 11-28-2007
Yomie's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Biloxi, MS
Posts: 114
I have yet to finish the D44 swap, i still have the D30 under there, i'm procrastinating
Reply With Quote
  #837  
Old 11-28-2007
zabeard's Avatar
who?
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 26,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gearhead61
Yep anything you wanna use can be used. I'm not particularly sure WHY people use IFS 'yota boxes so often though.

from my understanding you can port the Yota box really easy for Hydro Assist which makes it a good box to use.
Reply With Quote
  #838  
Old 11-28-2007
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 2,099
They're cheap, fit the outside of framerail very easy, and plenty strong enough for a ranger.

On our newer rangers a box cannot fit inside the frame-rail unless you want to re-locate the power steering pump.

Why is this thread still alive? lol
Reply With Quote
  #839  
Old 11-28-2007
EdGe_wannabe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Georgia
Posts: 4,306
Because it's yours man! Fo-sho!

I need hydro-assist Jey, what do I need to do? :)

Brenton
Reply With Quote
  #840  
Old 11-28-2007
zabeard's Avatar
who?
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 26,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by 034x4

Why is this thread still alive? lol

because we miss ya
Reply With Quote
  #841  
Old 11-28-2007
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 2,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by EdGe_wannabe
Because it's yours man! Fo-sho!

I need hydro-assist Jey, what do I need to do? :)

Brenton
Wait a few months and let me sell you my set-up. I'm takin that leaky **** off.

(not that the ram is bad or anything, I just have it mounted in a bad location so the end caps keep loosening)
Reply With Quote
  #842  
Old 11-28-2007
EdGe_wannabe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Georgia
Posts: 4,306
So how would we/I fix that 'leaky' problem?

Brenton
Reply With Quote
  #843  
Old 11-28-2007
RF Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
Mount it in a different place!
Reply With Quote
  #844  
Old 11-29-2007
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 2,099
or put some tacks on the end caps.
Reply With Quote
  #845  
Old 12-12-2007
99ranger4x4's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 12,198
im gonna dig this back up, do you have any new pics?
Reply With Quote
  #846  
Old 12-12-2007
EdGe_wannabe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, Georgia
Posts: 4,306
He's in Cali and his truck is in Ga. So unless his dad or mom or sister or whoever can get pics, then I'm guessing you'll have to wait till he gets back!

Brenton
Reply With Quote
  #847  
Old 12-12-2007
Matt3203's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: phenix city, alabama
Posts: 292
what the measurement for the front crossmember that you used to hold up the front leaf springs?
Reply With Quote
  #848  
Old 12-13-2007
redranger4.0's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Firey depths
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt3203
what the measurement for the front crossmember that you used to hold up the front leaf springs?
Width wise? should be 31.5 or 32" center to center for the leaf hangers.
Reply With Quote
  #849  
Old 12-13-2007
Matt3203's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: phenix city, alabama
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by redranger4.0
Width wise? should be 31.5 or 32" center to center for the leaf hangers.
alright cool
Reply With Quote
  #850  
Old 05-09-2008
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 2,099
took off the assist ram.

Might sell it if anyone is interested.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edge_Wannabe's Solid axle swap buildup thread 034x4 Suspension Tech 485 07-10-2010 12:57 PM
034x4 SAS V 2.0 034x4 Project Logs 345 11-26-2009 09:35 AM
solid axle swap emericax21 Suspension Tech 15 06-18-2006 02:11 AM
Solid axle swap in my 2000???? customrider3 Drivetrain Tech 30 06-17-2006 01:48 PM
034x4 Strider0O0 Ranger Products, Company, & Member Reviews 14 11-09-2005 06:07 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:18 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.