The Carputer Progress Thread - Page 3 - Ranger-Forums - The Ultimate Ford Ranger Resource


Project Logs For detailed builds specific to the Ford Ranger, one thread per vehicle please.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #51  
Old 07-11-2006
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ft Hood, TX
Posts: 1,779
how bout some updated pics kyle.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 07-11-2006
Trevelyn1015's Avatar
Still El Presidente...
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,900
Are you going to have a usb port in the bezel, for quick and easy access to stuff on memory sticks, or plug your ipod in, or whatever...?
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 07-11-2006
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
I'm sorry to say but I don't have a terrible lot of new pictures. I could show y'all some stuff of the new TinyXP OS I put in, but it's not very exciting. I've been stuck hung up on waiting for a new software update to be released. It should be out ANY day now. Of course it should have been out in the first part of June, but oh well...

Christian I do plan on having a USB hub and power/reset buttons that are more easily accessible, though I havent decided where I'm going to put them yet. They won't be in the bezel, but possibilities include inside the center console, the glovebox, or the little cubby under the HVAC controls.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 07-29-2006
fishy2k8's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (-1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Avon, IN
Posts: 457
this is looking awesome, very interested on how it will turn out... how is it coming along?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 07-29-2006
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
Progress has been pretty slow the last few weeks due to a new summer course I started. Work also kept me busy for awhile. Thankfully I'm done with work for the rest of the summer. The new Centrafuse update was released about a week ago and I just got my hands on it last night. I've got to iron out some issues with the Phone Control software and get my GPS software working properly also. Hopefully in the next 2-3 weeks I'll be able to get a video of a 'dry-run' outside the truck with all the software properly working on the touchscreen. I've got to re-rip all my CD collection too because I managed to accidentally delete them lol.

My other deal has been installation. I can't decide yet where I want to install the computer, the sub, and the amps so I can still maintain enough room in the back of the cab to put my school books and other stuff behind my seats like I normally do.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 07-29-2006
fishy2k8's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (-1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Avon, IN
Posts: 457
sounding sweet... do you use the jump seats? if not then just put the subs there, the amp and carputer on the floor under plexi so that you can still put your books and stuff on top? cant wait to see it done!
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 07-29-2006
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
That is sort of the plan right now. Probably will be carpeted MDF to keep everything hidden though.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 07-30-2006
INT3RC3PTOR's Avatar
Veteran Status Achieved
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minnesooooota
Posts: 8,203
i havnt checked this thread since the first posts.. looking good man, id still like to do somthn like this when im more done with the suspention/drivetrain.

it will be awesome when its done
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 08-24-2006
pastfinder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,252
Anything happening with getting this completed?
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 08-24-2006
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
I've been having a HELL of a week with this thing. I reinstalled windows because the slimmed version I had wasn't stable enough to handle all the functions. I started to rip my CD collection back onto the hard drive after reinstalling the wifi adapter and managed to get like 12 viruses on it because I hadn't updated the anti-virus software. So I reinstall windows again. I don't install the wifi adapter again, but try to atleast get the touchscreen going with the GPS software so I can test it out on my drive from Dallas to College Station. I try to install my slim DVD drive, and for some reason it doesn't work right. I power down, unplug and uninstall the drive, and now the mobo is pissed at me and won't even POST. I was || this close to throwing the damn thing out the window, but I packed it up and moved it down to CS with me. It's under my bed right now for the time being until things settle down a little bit.

I do have 120 sq. ft. of SecondSkin sound deadening, a JL 300/4, 250/1, and 12W3V3 along with a set of Boston Acoustics Pro60s waiting to be installed with the carputer though. It's just been a pretty crazy time the last week to week and a half.
Reply With Quote
  #61  
Old 08-25-2006
99XLTOffroad's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington, PA
Posts: 505
What was the error with the slimline DVD ROM? No post is never a good thing. Which i hope your mobo isn't frying itself or is defected. I'll try to help with what i can.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 08-25-2006
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
Well when I tried to install it with the USB enclosure it could detect that there was a USB device but it wouldn't install itself correctly. Then when I tried to power on the carputer using the IDE adapter is when it stopped posting. Don't have a CLUE what happened because the drive works just fine with my desktop computer and the IDE adapter.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 08-25-2006
zabeard's Avatar
who?
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 26,045
you got 12 viruses that fast! doesnt make sense.

is there a bios reset on tha mobo?
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 08-25-2006
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
I exaggerated a little bit. But it still wasn't a pretty sight. There is a backup battery I tried removing and replacing but that didn't help me out. Where would I find a bios reset button? The board is a VIA M10000
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 08-25-2006
zabeard's Avatar
who?
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 26,045
its normally a jumper which is 3 pins the jumper is currently on like pins 1 and 2 and you move it to 2-3 with the pc off, leave it there for 3-4 seconds then move it back to 1 and 2 then power it up.

another option is to flash the bios

http://www.via.com.tw/en/products/ma...herboard_id=81

under the downloads section.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 08-30-2006
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
Well the carputer is atleast back online! I've found the CMOS error and fixed it, and now my USB dvd drive is operational too! That was about the most exciting minute of my life actually watching it work for me again and not having my computer crash on me a dozen times!

My new iGuidance software gets here tomorrow! It's got a set-up specifically for carPCs with larger buttons and enhanced POI databases, so I'm really excited to get that up and running! I'm gonna be spending a ton of time ripping CDs and dvds over the next few days while trying to get the rest of the software up and running. I think the biggest hurdle now will be the bluetooth phone control. Hopefully I'll find the right drivers and settings quickly and be ready to get this puppy on the ROAD!
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 08-31-2006
Lefty04LevelII's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,447
what's taking so long, gees!

After following all this and all the PITAs you've encountered I think right about now I'd be content with having the 6disc OEM radio and just burn all my music in mp3 format to disc. Though having a GPS option would be nice.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 08-31-2006
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperSmurf
what's taking so long, gees!

After following all this and all the PITAs you've encountered I think right about now I'd be content with having the 6disc OEM radio and just burn all my music in mp3 format to disc. Though having a GPS option would be nice.
Well I could barely operate a computer before I started any of this project. It's been worth the hassle already because of how much I've learned! If I was to do it again it'd go hella fast. I'm predicting pretty smooth sailing from here on out. Keep your fingers crossed!
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 08-31-2006
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: PUEBLO, CO
Posts: 3,753
"I can see clearly now the rain is gone!! I can see all obstacles in my way!!!"


go kyle!
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 08-31-2006
buzzair's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: White Plains, NY
Posts: 2,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gearhead61
Well I could barely operate a computer before I started any of this project. It's been worth the hassle already because of how much I've learned! If I was to do it again it'd go hella fast. I'm predicting pretty smooth sailing from here on out. Keep your fingers crossed!

Damn, thats quite an undertaking for someone who was inexperienced in computers. I'm pretty good with computers, got my AAS degree and worked for a year in computer assembly and repair and I would be hesitatant to start a project like this.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 08-31-2006
rolla_guy72's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 3,256
So you went ahead and bought the second skin? that's cool... I don't remember if I spent the money or not...lol.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 08-31-2006
r0ng5's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 2,575
Good job kyle!

I've since dropped all my plans for this project and will instead buy a PDA and get GPS with that
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 08-31-2006
gatorblue92's Avatar
RF Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Delaware
Posts: 8,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0ng5
Good job kyle!

I've since dropped all my plans for this project and will instead buy a PDA and get GPS with that
thats one way to do it... on a side note here is a how to one of my roommates from college made for installing a screen in his taurus... dont know if it will help but it might give you some more ideas
http://www.jonheese.com/lcdmount/
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 08-31-2006
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by gatorblue92
thats one way to do it... on a side note here is a how to one of my roommates from college made for installing a screen in his taurus... dont know if it will help but it might give you some more ideas
http://www.jonheese.com/lcdmount/
That is pretty snazzy! Probably wouldn't work well for me though since I've already spent countless hours working on this:

Name:  CIMG0388.jpg
Views: 2
Size:  50.8 KB

Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzair
Damn, thats quite an undertaking for someone who was inexperienced in computers. I'm pretty good with computers, got my AAS degree and worked for a year in computer assembly and repair and I would be hesitatant to start a project like this.
Well I did alot of reading and there's been alot of trial and error. I'd been reading for pretty much 2-3 months before I even started this thread or purchased my basic system! And i've had alot of help from the folks over at www.mp3car.com too. Hopefully I'll get the chance to get a good bit knocked out over the next few days and have some cool screen shots to show y'all.

Channing, yeah i did go ahead and get the SecondSkin... That group buy just wasn't showing enough interest. I'm really excited to get it in, I wish it was here with me and not back at home, or I'd be tearing my interior apart already!
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 08-31-2006
jrpro130's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,057
Sounds good Kyle!!! Good luck!!

I just installed my n3...mmmmmm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Focus SVT progress thread freddie Project Logs 90 05-01-2009 05:21 PM
figured i'd do a progress thread of my truck Tys 4x4 FTW Snapshots 10 04-06-2009 02:48 AM
My carputer progress... W1CKY General Ford Ranger Discussion 12 03-20-2007 09:57 PM
Turning a lap top into a carputer? Otis_Ranger Audio & Video Tech 17 09-24-2006 06:36 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.