The Carputer Progress Thread - Page 4 - Ranger-Forums - The Ultimate Ford Ranger Resource


Project Logs For detailed builds specific to the Ford Ranger, one thread per vehicle please.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #76  
Old 09-03-2006
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
Well I've had some limited success the past few days.

I've gotten my new iGuidance 3.0 software, which is really leaps and bounds beyond 2.1.3 which I was using. The new software has a special setting designed specifically for touchscreen applications in which the buttons are larger and placed in a more ideal location for easy navigation with the touchscreen I'm using.


This shows the format for 2.1.3 which is what I had... notice how small the buttons and menus are. Imagine trying to hit that with your finger!


This is what 3.0 looks like! Big difference, no?

I'm working now with the bluetooth phone control aspect. I've had some pretty good success in getting the PC to read my Text Message inbox, my calls list (dialed, received, missed), and my phone book. I've used the PC to send and receive text messages also! My biggest problem now is that when I use the PC to dial a phone number, I only get sound out of the phone. When I use the phone to dial a number, I get sound out of the PC speakers! I'm hopefully going to be able to resolve this issue shortly. Until then though, here's a shot of the phone control software running in centrafuse while I browse my phonebook.

Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 09-03-2006
r0ng5's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 2,575
that looks awesome man. I like how iGuidance is so bubbly, haha.

Maybe I'm not understanding what you're saying, but do you have a mic for your phone? And maybe.. in your sound settings (via Contro Panel), select which "sound hardware" you want the sound to come out of. That might be a solution to your problem

Once you're done, hope you can get pics of the whole thing
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 09-03-2006
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
Larson, I don't have a microphone for the phone (besides the one that's built in obviously.) I have a microphone connected to my computer. Basically, I want the PC to act like one of those bluetooth headsets when I make or receive calls. I want the PC speakers and microphone to replace the phone's speaker and microphone. I have the microphone configured right, I tested it in sound recorder.

I've made some headway with it... I can get the sound through my speakers and mic on the PC when I make a call... however when I receive a call, the PC will answer the call and then call a random name in my phonebook! Haha it's kind of weird but I have a feeling it's in the extended configuration and I made a little typo somewhere.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 09-20-2006
Kanoeking's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Murderapolis
Posts: 748
Kyle any new updates? and when are you going to come to MN and hook me up?
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 09-20-2006
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
I've been pretty busy lately, but I do have alot of it up and running on the carputer. I've been trying to get a video of Centrafuse running through the touchscreen but I haven't had the time lately. I'll see if I can't get it up before the weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 09-21-2006
bmb005's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Huntsville, TX
Posts: 164
I wanna see it....next time i come down to CS...LOL....
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 09-21-2006
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
I took a short video using some of the various features. If anyone can host them I'll put it up!
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 09-21-2006
zabeard's Avatar
who?
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 26,045
check your PMs
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 09-21-2006
zabeard's Avatar
who?
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 26,045
that is a killer setup kyle.

all the software you have free? like iguidance?
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 09-21-2006
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
iGuidance is not a free software. Thankfully I made a friend who sold me the software for a pretty reasonable price. The Centrafuse software is a beta version of a soon-to-be commercialized front end program. The bugs have been pretty minimal so far, and for now it's free. The phone control software is bundled with Centrafuse. I'm also toying with a program called netstumbler which will let me access any wireless network i come in range of as long as it is not encrypted, and will do it automatically.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 09-21-2006
zabeard's Avatar
who?
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 26,045
i got ya.

ive got a laptop that runs for the most part. screen is the only junk item on it. might have to see if i can make that work. idk. i need to read into it more.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 09-22-2006
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
I think the problem most people run into with laptops is powering, starting, and shutting down the computer properly. If you want it to be a permanent install though, you could probably pull it off pretty well.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 09-22-2006
04lvl2's Avatar
RF Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 5,600
So did the video ever get hosted???????
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 09-22-2006
zabeard's Avatar
who?
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 26,045
i offered but havnt recieved any file yet.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 09-23-2006
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
Zach I tried emailing you yesterday. I guess it didn't go. What other options do you have to get the file?
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 12-01-2006
INT3RC3PTOR's Avatar
Veteran Status Achieved
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minnesooooota
Posts: 8,203
What it do Kyle , hows it coming?
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 12-12-2006
Rooks's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,867
Any news on this one Kyle?
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 12-12-2006
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
Sorry guys, finals and not having a good place to work has kept me from getting anything installed. I head home tomorrow morning, so thursday morning you can bet my garage will be cleaned out and my truck will be in pieces getting all set up! I'll have lots of pictures for you guys soon!
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 12-17-2006
Biz's Avatar
Biz Biz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: los angeles,California
Posts: 2,120
nice..i cant wait
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 01-04-2007
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
Ok, so here's a small update:

Software is 100% ready to go. Bluetooth phone connection works flawlessly, allowing my computer to send and receive text messages, and dial and answer phone calls without me ever having to touch my phone. DVD codecs are updated and work great. GPS navigation is running wonderfully with iGuidance 3.0 and a special Centrafuse interface. My music, videos, and other multimedia are all loaded to the computer.

All the peripherals (wifi adapter, GPS mouse, touch screen) are wired up and sitting in the truck. I've run my power wires and remote ignition lead to my distribution blocks, secured the carputer, and turned over the truck...

Nothing. I've narrowed it down to my M2-ATX power supply. It's getting power just fine, but isn't making any power, turning it into an expensive and not very effective paperweight. Because I bought the M2 used through a member of a forum, I'm SOL on warranty work or replacement. The M2 has worked for me in the past during brief testing, but it's decided to fry itself somehow. In the past 24 hours I've done a lot of reading and it seems that many people have had the same issue as I have with the M2. Some have even reported their M2 shorting out their motherboard, CPU, or HDD, so I guess I can consider myself lucky. I've bought a new OPUS 120w power supply and it should be here on Monday. I'll have to make a few modifications to my case because the OPUS is larger than the M2 was, but I've read nothing but good things about the OPUS power supplies, so hopefully we'll be up and running strong by this time next week.
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 01-04-2007
lifted97ranger's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Charlestown, IN
Posts: 1
sweet! got any final install pics?
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 01-04-2007
RF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 5,782
Not yet. Had to pull everything back out trying to figure out what was the problem. Most of the wires and stuff are still sitting in there, but I pulled the screen back out because I didn't want it to get stolen. I'll have some pictures up once I have everything in and working properly.
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 01-04-2007
lifted97ranger's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Charlestown, IN
Posts: 1
sweet!
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 08-30-2007
0RangerEdge2's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,593
Not to bring this back from the dead or anything but did it ever get finished?
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 08-30-2007
bryanjints's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mount Holly, NJ
Posts: 1,857
dang I forgot all about this thread. I would also like to know did it ever get finished.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Focus SVT progress thread freddie Project Logs 90 05-01-2009 05:21 PM
figured i'd do a progress thread of my truck Tys 4x4 FTW Snapshots 10 04-06-2009 02:48 AM
My carputer progress... W1CKY General Ford Ranger Discussion 12 03-20-2007 09:57 PM
Turning a lap top into a carputer? Otis_Ranger Audio & Video Tech 17 09-24-2006 06:36 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:26 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.