Ranger-Forums Office Post all comments, questions, and suggestions about the site in this sub-forum. Announcements will be posted here as well.

Your forums are redirecting to malware.

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Jun 7, 2022
  #1  
Ford40's Avatar
Thread Starter
|
Member
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 11
Likes: 4
From: arizona
Your forums are redirecting to malware.

Your forums have been hacked.There are scripts being placed in some forums that redirect to malware.
 
Reply
Old Jun 7, 2022
  #2  
Ranger480's Avatar
Member
Joined: May 2021
Posts: 910
Likes: 209
From: Midwest
Please expound on this. Where?
 
Reply
Old Jun 7, 2022
  #3  
RonD's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (1)
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 30,635
Likes: 2,952
From: Vancouver, BC
Originally Posted by Ford40
Your forums have been hacked.There are scripts being placed in some forums that redirect to malware.
Its most likely your Browser that's been hacked not this site, i.e. firefox, explorer, ect....

Links you find posted by someone else on any website can send you to malware sites, so avoid clicking in links that are not site approved
 
Reply
Old Jun 7, 2022
  #4  
DILLARD000's Avatar
Member
Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 850
Likes: 224
From: US
Configure your Browser+Email+Phon... with readily available blockers for Ads+Malware+Cookies+Spam+Scanners...
Using the Internet\FaceBook\Forums\... without doing so is just being dangerously foolish & nieve.
 
Reply
Old Jun 7, 2022
  #5  
Ford40's Avatar
Thread Starter
|
Member
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 11
Likes: 4
From: arizona
It's via google. When I search for different things on google (in this case it was Ranger Transmission 6 speed (or 5 speed) on google it showed your site and when I clicked on it, it took me to another site, not yours. My AV software blocked the site. It did this several times. After about an hour I tried again and it then went to your site.

It was not in my browser. It seems to be some sort of script that is being run from a reply to a forum post.

From my history here is the site it was redirecting to:
Transmissions - Manual -high-impact.net

That's the best I can offer.
 
Reply
Old Jun 7, 2022
  #6  
DILLARD000's Avatar
Member
Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 850
Likes: 224
From: US
Sounds like scammers spoofing sites so they come up as false links in google searches.
Do keep your AV software & browser addons updated, so they keep blocking such things.
 
Reply
Old Jun 7, 2022
  #7  
Ranger480's Avatar
Member
Joined: May 2021
Posts: 910
Likes: 209
From: Midwest
Nothing was hacked. It was a spoofed site.
 
Reply
Old Jun 7, 2022
  #8  
Fordzilla80's Avatar
Moderator
iTrader: (1)
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,872
Likes: 498
From: Moderator Town, Moderator
Are you sure it was this site and not Ford Ranger Forum Dot Com? That specific forum is full of suspicious links and is known to redirect to malicious sites.
 
Reply
Old Jun 7, 2022
  #9  
Robb M.'s Avatar
IB Staff
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 49
Likes: 6
From: Barrie, ON
please repeat the google search and provide search results and the click through url that you click on that directs you someplace other than here 🤓
 
Reply
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Murphy
Ranger-Forums Office
34
Mar 4, 2011 12:51 PM
andddrew says
Ranger-Forums Office
5
Aug 30, 2010 05:26 PM




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:04 AM.