possibly getting sub for f150 - Ranger-Forums - The Ultimate Ford Ranger Resource


Audio & Video Tech General discussion of audio and video for the Ford Ranger.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-24-2010
kymudder08's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 838
possibly getting sub for f150

so my friend has a 12" sub in his f350 dually and is wantin to get rid of it. i was wondering if i can hook it up to my stock headunit. its got the stock audiophile system and sub already so i figured i could but i thought id ask someone on here who might have done it already. the sub im gettin isnt anything special its just a 12" street edge with a street edge amp. it sounds good to me and i just want to bump a little more and its gonna be fairly cheap. i do plan on getting an aftermarket deck though later on

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2010
Downey's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Muncy, PA
Posts: 8,470
you need an inline converter to hook it up and i dont think they sound good.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2010
andddrew says's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 533
As far as i know your going to need an aftermarket head unit. Now i don't have an F-150 but that's how our rangers work. You probably could splice into the stock unit and figure it out somehow but i can tell you that the aftermarket units are going to have way more ports in the back.

Edit: -1 for inline converter :)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2010
kymudder08's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 838
i dont even know what half that **** is. ive heard of people doin it and ik a guy personally who did it to his ram. i figured you could since it came with a stock sub
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2010
korey89's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South, FL
Posts: 4,672
Yeah you can easily do it, you just need a line out converter

Line-Out Converters | Line Output Converters at Sonic Electronix
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2010
kymudder08's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 838
whats that do and wheres it go? guessin thats how you controll the bass without usin the stock headunit and havin bass in the reg speakers too
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-24-2010
korey89's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South, FL
Posts: 4,672
That is to tap off of the speaker outputs from the back of the headunit and convert it into an RCA output so that you can plug it into your amp. Personally I would just buy a new headunit, it will sound a lot better.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-24-2010
kymudder08's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 838
i will eventually. i cant afford it right now though and the subs that hes sellin wont be here when i can. so by tapping off you mean the bass wont go to it or what?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-24-2010
andddrew says's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 533
You can buy a new head unit for like $90 bucks that has the RCA ports etc. You can probably find one in the classifieds for cheaper.

The converter basically means that you are controlling your speakers from your headunit and your bass from the inline
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-24-2010
kymudder08's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 838
ok, thanks. the unit i want is 400. i buy the good stuff when i can afford it lol. i try not to settle bc ive been there and they are ****
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-24-2010
rangerboy101's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Winchester, Va
Posts: 8,187
What kind of headunit are you looking at?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-24-2010
kymudder08's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 838
its an alpine. dont know the actual number though. its 3-400 with remote and ipod cable
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-24-2010
andddrew says's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 533
I have the alpine CDA - 9856. Check it out i bought it when it was brand new 3 or 4 years ago but it works great with the ipod
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-27-2010
kymudder08's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 838
welp. my dads lettin me get a cheaper unit to swap into his truck and im putting the nice alpine in my truck. gonna get a 10" rockford fosgate p1 or p2 and TRY to put it behind the center console between it and the back seat. i RARELY have more than 3 or 4 people in my truck so not worried bout the senter seat bein taken up. if i do, ill just unplug everything and take it out. doest anyone know if a 10 will fit there with it not being crewcab? ik a shallow will fit but i dont wanna spend the extra money just to get a shallow if i dont have to.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-27-2010
kymudder08's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 838
doesn anyone on here know if rockford fosgate 10" P1s or P2s will sound and do alright with a JBL GT5 series amp?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-27-2010
korey89's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South, FL
Posts: 4,672
need to be more specific
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-27-2010
kymudder08's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 838
the amp is a JBL GT5-A604 640 watt 4 channel. was told its a good amp for up to 2 10s for a truck
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-27-2010
TXRanger09's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: El Paso, Tx
Posts: 1,206
isnt a 4 channel more for mids and highs? idk just asking.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-27-2010
korey89's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South, FL
Posts: 4,672
Just buy a mono amp and a single sub, the best that amp can do is "Bridged, 4 ohms: 160 watts x 2 chan".
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-27-2010
kymudder08's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 838
i have no clue what that means. lol
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 03-27-2010
TXRanger09's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: El Paso, Tx
Posts: 1,206
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-27-2010
korey89's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South, FL
Posts: 4,672
^ I have the same amp, in my truck pushing a single 10. It sounds great, the amp is just a little on the big side for only 500 watts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kymudder08 View Post
i have no clue what that means. lol
When you bridge an amp you combine 2 channels into 1. Basically making the amp from a 4 channel into a 2 channel, or if you have a 2 channel you make it into a 1 channel. The most that amp can do is 160 watts RMS per channel.

Bascially look here and pick an amp lol

Mono Subwoofer Amps | Car Amplifiers | Car Audio | Car Audio, Video & GPS at Sonic Electronix
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-27-2010
kymudder08's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 838
from what im told the rockfords are nicer than the pioneers so idk how good theyd do with that lower rockford amp. and they seem to sound better from what i have heard
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-27-2010
kymudder08's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 838
oh ok
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-27-2010
kymudder08's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Owensboro, KY
Posts: 838
what are channels? is that like the amount of subs or something?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
getting exhaust for the f150 kymudder08 General Ford Discussion 41 04-17-2010 11:45 AM
Now that we have an F150 section it must be time for updated F150 pics. RazorsEDGE Ford Snapshots & Videos 13 02-14-2010 12:50 PM
Possibly Updgrading Speakers + Sub? PlasticHero Audio & Video Tech 24 10-15-2008 02:12 PM
Possibly getting a new truck... jrpro130 General Ford Ranger Discussion 52 08-27-2006 08:19 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:02 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.