another cb thread - Ranger-Forums - The Ultimate Ford Ranger Resource


General Technical & Electrical General technical and electrical discussion for the Ford Ranger that does not fit in any other sub-forum.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-25-2007
mx98ranger's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 1,493
another cb thread

i bought one of the cheap cobra cb's at walmart and i was thinking that i would mount it underneath the ashtray. i was curious as to which wires were there to use for power. ive been researching past threads and couldn't really find a straight answer. am i gonna have to cut and splice a power wire of some kind? if i choose to run a wire from the battery.. what size fuse do you think i might need? i was also wondering what everyone did with the walkie talkie thing(techincal term). pics of applications, install, wiring options would all be appreciated!!! thanks for any help!


*EDIT*- is there any retail store i.e. pep boys, best buy circuit city, 4 wheel parts, or anywhere that stocks firestik antennas?? if so how much do they usually run?

Last edited by mx98ranger; 04-25-2007 at 08:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2007
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Avon, IN
Posts: 756
best place to get firesticks and such besides online will be a truck stop
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2007
Fx4wannabe01's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boring, Oregon
Posts: 21,721
about $22 for a 4 foot firestick.

I don't really know how the ohv engine compartments are.....but the engine fuse panel....there's two covers. Take the smaller one off. there's two studs and there's constant power off there, that's where I pull power for my electrical accesories. for a cb, a 10a fuse should be fine.

Check out these pics:



Let us know if that location would work with the manual....that's where I plan on mounting mine.




Last edited by Fx4wannabe01; 04-26-2007 at 05:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-26-2007
mx98ranger's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 1,493
cool... i was thinking last night.. if i mount this antenna on the back using alon's mount, where am i gonna be runnin the cable, and what are suggestions for doing it?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-26-2007
Needforspeed3685's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lowell, AR
Posts: 1,836
I ran mine along the inside of the passenger's side frame rail. It penetrated the cab at the rubber stopper beneath the passenger's seat.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-26-2007
mx98ranger's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 1,493
that sounds like a pretty good idea. ill try that. thx for all the help, you guys have really been more help than you know.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-26-2007
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 62
as for the power, i just spliced into the ciggarette lighter...
i mounted it in the little ash tray thing there too, and grounded at the controller behind the cup holder. (don't know if your interior is like mine though...)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-26-2007
beaver25's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Posts: 274
I just called the walmarts around me and they all say that they dont sell it...Does anyone know if there is somewhere besides walmart and radioshack and neither of them sell the cobra?Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-26-2007
Du510's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeast
Posts: 229
EBAY is your best bet; its where i got mine
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-26-2007
beaver25's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Posts: 274
Alright thanks
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-26-2007
beaver25's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Posts: 274
I hate calling the stores they are such lazy a$$e$. I walked into the walmart on my way home from work and guess what they had.....about 10 cb boxes sitting right in plain view!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-26-2007
mx98ranger's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 1,493
yeah.. i was wondering why they would have them in all the walmart stores around here, and not in michigan.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-27-2007
beaver25's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Posts: 274
If i wire it to the cig light do I have to unplug the unit so it doesnt kill the battery? or will just shutting the unit off work?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-27-2007
FireRanger's Avatar  
Join Date: May 2004
Location: CT
Posts: 0
Just shutting it off will be fine. You do not need to disconnect the power.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-27-2007
mx98ranger's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 1,493
is there a way to use the cig lighter power line without making it useless? im not amazing with wiring but i guess just make it a 3-way splice?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-27-2007
beaver25's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Posts: 274
Can i wired it straight to the battery?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-27-2007
Du510's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeast
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by beaver25
Can i wired it straight to the battery?
thats how ive got mine; no issues
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-27-2007
mx98ranger's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 1,493
^^ yeah thats another way that ive heard to do it. just fuse it.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-27-2007
beaver25's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Posts: 274
Do you have to fuse it? cuz I havent had to do that so how would I do that?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-27-2007
Du510's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeast
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by beaver25
Do you have to fuse it? cuz I havent had to do that so how would I do that?

I haven't fused it, but I probably should.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 04-27-2007
mx98ranger's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: GA
Posts: 1,493
just go to a parts store and get some kind of inline fuse. cut the power wire and put it in.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-27-2007
FireRanger's Avatar  
Join Date: May 2004
Location: CT
Posts: 0
YES YOU NEED A FUSE.

Unless of course you don't mind your truck ending up a smoking hole in the ground.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-27-2007
beaver25's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Posts: 274
oh ok
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-27-2007
Fx4wannabe01's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boring, Oregon
Posts: 21,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by beaver25
Do you have to fuse it? cuz I havent had to do that so how would I do that?
YESS!!! When somebody doesn't use a fuse, I always think l2en, big fire, truck be gone. USE A FUSE!!!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-03-2007
l2en's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Keystone State
Posts: 4,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fx4wannabe01
YESS!!! When somebody doesn't use a fuse, I always think l2en, big fire, truck be gone. USE A FUSE!!!
Name:  DSCN1646.jpg
Views: 1
Size:  95.1 KB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Location in Classified Thread = Thread Closed KLC Ranger-Forums Office 1 05-18-2012 06:02 PM
:::Full Thread Plugs Instead Of Half Thread? NDL SOHC - 2.3L & 2.5L Lima Engines 6 08-05-2011 11:51 AM
yes another thread. lol roll pan thread! Tys 4x4 FTW General Ford Ranger Discussion 21 02-08-2010 09:09 AM
People's Opinions From The Old VIP Thread (now made into contributor thread) gbgary Ranger-Forums Office 71 12-05-2004 05:35 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:45 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.