General Ford Ranger Discussion General discussion of the Ford Ranger that does not fit in any other sub-forum.

Come buy my truck! It's for sale!

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #1  
rngprerunner's Avatar
Thread Starter
|
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,453
Likes: 10
From: Long Beach CA
Come buy my truck! It's for sale!

.... but not by me... lol.

I was tipped off this afternoon that some joker is trying to sell my truck. It's kinda funny, kinda sad, and kinda ridiculous.

It is funny because of how far off he is about everything. You would think if he found the photos he could find what I had done to it too.

He says 67k miles, try 140k miles.
He says King bumps, try Fox bumps.
He says 35's, try 33's.
He says Baja Wheels, try ProComp.
He says 2 15" subs, try 1 10".
He says DVD Headunit, try old Sony.
And 3500? Shoot, blue book on the truck stock is double that.

So I already emailed the guy asking for more information and pictures. We'll see if he bites.

Here is the Ad, have fun. Just be sure and post if you do anything.

http://www.race-dezert.com/cgi-bin/t...econd&id=22965
 
Reply
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #2  
KARPE's Avatar
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 4,748
Likes: 2
From: Valrico, Fl 33594
haha " or trade for lifted golf cart"


OUCH

ask for half the profit!
 
Reply
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #3  
INT3RC3PTOR's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (4)
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,201
Likes: 2
From: Minnesooooota
haha wtf
 
Reply
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #4  
zabeard's Avatar
who?
iTrader: (8)
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 26,044
Likes: 10
From: IN
wow i think i would be scared... lol

do you think that he may just be using your pics for reference?
 
Reply
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #5  
jtslmn720's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (1)
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,367
Likes: 5
From: Kent State, Kent Ohio
haha thats awesome...

my truck was on autotrader for almost 6 months after i bought it and emailed them and got a test drive
 
Reply
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #6  
Brit-ranger's Avatar
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 651
Likes: 1
From: USA
Tell them your interested in a test drive, go meet up with them,drive up in your truck see what they have to say
 
Reply
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #7  
rngprerunner's Avatar
Thread Starter
|
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,453
Likes: 10
From: Long Beach CA
Originally Posted by zabeard
wow i think i would be scared... lol

do you think that he may just be using your pics for reference?
No I'm pretty sure it is a scam. If the truck were what he says it is it would sell for 10-15grand easy. Not 3500.

That and all the info that he has that is correct is exactly what I have in my signature, everything else was a guess.
 
Reply
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #8  
RangerJustin's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (1)
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,428
Likes: 0
From: SoCal
i emailed him...asked if he would meet halfway to look at it...
 
Reply
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #9  
Fazda's Avatar
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 438
Likes: 0
From: NH
Did anyone notice he's trying to sell it from Las Vegas, Nevada and the truck has California plates?
 
Reply
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #10  
rngprerunner's Avatar
Thread Starter
|
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,453
Likes: 10
From: Long Beach CA
Haha.. I noticed he said Nevada but didn't even think about it having my California plates, too funny.
 
Reply
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #11  
IR0NS1N's Avatar
Member
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 886
Likes: 0
From: Mesa, Arizona
Nice, take your truck and some big guys with you, and see what happens.
 
Reply
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #12  
devreaux's Avatar
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 251
Likes: 0
From: Toronto
Originally Posted by zabeard

do you think that he may just be using your pics for reference?

I was thinking this also..
 
Reply
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #13  
lifted97ranger's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Likes: 4
From: Charlestown, IN
lol.......it isn't funny, but it is....
 
Reply
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #14  
SouthernMudSlinger's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,724
Likes: 1
From: Demorest,Ga
IF he were to be using the pics as reference, its odd that its also a 1999 4.0.
 
Reply
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #15  
SteveOh's Avatar
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 4,585
Likes: 0
From: Ft. Campbell Kentucky
Weird **** Right There.......I Sent Him a Email Asking if he would take 3k and if i can have a test drive
 
Reply
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #16  
enraged_hunter's Avatar
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 728
Likes: 0
From: Pittsburgh, Pa
That just seems to be messed up. But i would play there game for a while to see what happens
 
Reply
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #17  
Msl747's Avatar
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 730
Likes: 0
From: Bay Area, CA
Originally Posted by Brit-ranger
Tell them your interested in a test drive, go meet up with them,drive up in your truck see what they have to say
Thats what I was thinking...
 
Reply
Old Apr 16, 2007
  #18  
06fx4 L2's Avatar
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 430
Likes: 0
From: SO CAL
dude... he musta got alot of emails.. i woulda called about that truck if i saw it forsale.. wouldent all of you???

so serously now... ill buy it ill even give you 4K for it AND pick it up.. why are you pretending its not for sale..

pm me and ill be there tomarrow, thanks.

JOSH
 
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2007
  #19  
DrivAPrerunner's Avatar
MrFantastic's alter ego
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 677
Likes: 0
From: San Luis Obispo/Riverside, CA
I flipped a ***** when I saw this on RDC, Jason. First thing I did was think, "Why the hell would he do that?" then sent the link to Alon with a big wtf behind it. Glad to hear "you" are not getting rid of her. What a stupid thing to do, I wonder what he thinks he can get out of this.
 
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2007
  #20  
rngprerunner's Avatar
Thread Starter
|
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,453
Likes: 10
From: Long Beach CA
Originally Posted by DrivAPrerunner
I wonder what he thinks he can get out of this.
I was thinking the same thing... I still can't figure out quite how that scam works. Only thing I can think is maybe he will ask for a deposit from people then vanish with a few bucks.
 
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2007
  #21  
BigRed911's Avatar
Member
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 108
Likes: 0
From: Thousand Oaks, CA
Originally Posted by Brit-ranger
Tell them your interested in a test drive, go meet up with them,drive up in your truck see what they have to say
Wow, bro...thats funny scheit!!!!

I say you do the above plan and watch the guy squirm.

Actually, I will be in Vegas this weekend and I could meet up with this guy and see whats up....and lay the smack down on him. Il take my buddy Joe...6'5" 285 pounds

EDIT: I just emailed him telling him that I would meet him in vegas this weekend.
 
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2007
  #22  
01xltranger4x4's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (3)
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 3,200
Likes: 0
From: MI
Wow, some people i'll tell ya.

You are probably right about the scam and deposit part, im sure thats what he'll ask for when someone says they want to buy it..
 
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2007
  #23  
Alon's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (13)
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,555
Likes: 3
From: Long Beach, CA
could also just be a way to talk to people.

If people email him to say they want the truck, then he says sorry, i dont haev the truck any more... but i do have _________ for sale if you're interested
 
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2007
  #24  
DCRVP's Avatar
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,340
Likes: 0
From: Riverview, Fl
I just clicked the link you posted and its not your truck anymore it showed up to some tires.
 
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2007
  #25  
rngprerunner's Avatar
Thread Starter
|
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,453
Likes: 10
From: Long Beach CA
Yea, the listing got removed a few hours ago after I contacted the admins on RDC.
 
Reply



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:28 AM.