Reader's Project thread - Page 6 - Ranger-Forums - The Ultimate Ford Ranger Resource


Project Logs For detailed builds specific to the Ford Ranger, one thread per vehicle please.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #126  
Old 08-30-2010
rstangboi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Davis, Ca
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fx4wannabe01 View Post
IDK what trans you've got Reader, but I'd look into swapping in a manual Tcase from a '90-97 RBV. They'll have the 1310 adaptor already there....but you CANNOT go wrong with a manual tcase. 4wd anytime, all the time. And you can get it in and out of 4L faster than the next guy with the switch can get it into 4H.


bighair: 90-97's are all 1310. 1330 is rear shaft stuff from '98 on. Back to the front, the 1350 cases found in '89 and earlier are spline shafts.
idk....my case has 4HI issues lol
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 08-30-2010
INT3RC3PTOR's Avatar
Veteran Status Achieved
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minnesooooota
Posts: 8,203
Only thing I missed was shift on the fly,mainly in winter driving
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 08-30-2010
Fx4wannabe01's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boring, Oregon
Posts: 21,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by INT3RC3PTOR View Post
Only thing I missed was shift on the fly,mainly in winter driving
What...you can't get off the throttle, pull the stick back, then get back on the throttle?? Are you telling me I was doing it all wrong!?!?!?? lol. I never seemed to have any issues shifting at speed before I blew the case in half along with the trans mainshaft...




EDIT: *****.....you auto guys really do have it nice....







not. lol.
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 08-30-2010
reader585's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oromocto New brunswick
Posts: 791
I am running the stock transmission that came with the FX4. Will the 1354M bolt right up to it.

And as for engaging the transfer case on the fly.... I always come to a dead stop before I put in in.
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 08-30-2010
INT3RC3PTOR's Avatar
Veteran Status Achieved
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minnesooooota
Posts: 8,203
Even with yer electric tcase? No need.
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 08-30-2010
reader585's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oromocto New brunswick
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by INT3RC3PTOR View Post
Even with yer electric tcase? No need.
Yep even with the electric t case. I just would sooner be safe then sorry
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 08-30-2010
INT3RC3PTOR's Avatar
Veteran Status Achieved
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minnesooooota
Posts: 8,203
Well then you're just wasting technology lol..
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 08-30-2010
reader585's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oromocto New brunswick
Posts: 791
I am convinced that technology has a personnel vendetta against me.
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 08-30-2010
INT3RC3PTOR's Avatar
Veteran Status Achieved
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minnesooooota
Posts: 8,203
Say word
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 08-30-2010
reader585's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oromocto New brunswick
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by INT3RC3PTOR View Post
Say word
ummm ok " word". This must be some new American lingo
Reply With Quote
  #136  
Old 08-30-2010
rstangboi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Davis, Ca
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by reader585 View Post
ummm ok " word". This must be some new American lingo
hahahahhaahhah
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 08-30-2010
Fx4wannabe01's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boring, Oregon
Posts: 21,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by reader585 View Post
ummm ok " word". This must be some new American lingo
wat aboot me 'merican lingo, eh?
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 08-30-2010
reader585's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oromocto New brunswick
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fx4wannabe01 View Post
wat aboot me 'merican lingo, eh?
It is sometimes hard to understand eh. its like the further south you go the more the speak New Foundlander.
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 08-30-2010
INT3RC3PTOR's Avatar
Veteran Status Achieved
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minnesooooota
Posts: 8,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by rstangboi View Post
hahahahhaahhah
lol
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 08-31-2010
reader585's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oromocto New brunswick
Posts: 791
So back on to topic for a sec. how far back can i trim my front fenders before I run in to problems. I only need to trim like 3 inches at the most. Also what can I use to trim them with.
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old 08-31-2010
zabeard's Avatar
who?
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 26,045
die grinder or plasma cutter.

3 inches you will run into trouble.

BTW guys you can shift a manual tcase on the fly too, only concern is your hubs, make sure they are locked. PVH this wont work on but live axle or locked hubs it will. I shift in and out while in the throttle too. It works just fine, you just cant be spinning the rear tires and expect the fronts to catch up. Assuming the front and rear and running virtually the same speed it will engage without issue.

Most people seem to think you cant shift in and out of 4wd at or above 55mph, this is also false, assuming like I stated above you can shift in and out of 4wd at any rate of speed. Ive engaged 4wd around 80mph before.
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 08-31-2010
reader585's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oromocto New brunswick
Posts: 791
So how far back can I safely trim then. Would 2 inches be good. And do you guys make a template for each side so that they are roughly the same?
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 08-31-2010
zabeard's Avatar
who?
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 26,045
I stuck the stock flare on and traced that, now you can go back further but in the lower back corner of those front fenders its a mess. layers of metal. its just not much fun.
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 08-31-2010
reader585's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oromocto New brunswick
Posts: 791
Ok, Now if I do that can I still get a set of fender flares to cover the tires ( dont want to get them but it is the law here)
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 08-31-2010
zabeard's Avatar
who?
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 26,045
id get the flares first then cut what they allow. otherwise i have no clue how to guide you.
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 09-01-2010
reader585's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oromocto New brunswick
Posts: 791
ok Makes sents
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 09-30-2010
reader585's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oromocto New brunswick
Posts: 791
So i adjusted my front syspention. I lifted it another 3 inches to level it out and it still bottoms out over every little bump. I am starting to think that my coils are to soft. They are supposed to be for a XJ or Jeep grand cherokee. What is everyone else running for coils. I am thinking of running 5.5 F-150 coils. What does everyone else think.
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 09-30-2010
rstangboi's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Davis, Ca
Posts: 2,583
hm...really? i guess u could do f150's....but theyre really that stiff? what shocks you running?
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 09-30-2010
reader585's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oromocto New brunswick
Posts: 791
14 inch Sky Jacker shocks
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 09-30-2010
zabeard's Avatar
who?
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 26,045
they are way too soft IMO. We put F150 coils, superflex 4" coils on his and the ride is great, and it really handles the weight so much better.

Super Flex Coil Springs, 4 Inch Lift CSH57

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New OBD II Reader SilverTank General Technical & Electrical 6 09-11-2006 08:38 PM
Code reader Kdog03 General Technical & Electrical 18 08-14-2006 06:23 PM
DTC Code Reader cincy4point0 General Ford Ranger Discussion 4 06-28-2005 11:17 PM
CReader - inexpensive OBDII code reader V8 Level II Ranger Products, Company, & Member Reviews 2 06-20-2005 09:47 AM
Free Palm OBD-II code reader software from me n3elz General Technical & Electrical 7 01-21-2005 12:10 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:41 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.