Ultra-Gauge Support/Ordering Thread - Page 5 - Ranger-Forums - The Ultimate Ford Ranger Resource


Audio & Video Tech General discussion of audio and video for the Ford Ranger.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #101  
Old 03-12-2011
KLC's Avatar
KLC KLC is offline
RF Veteran
iTrader: (29)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 13,115
Well I finally bit the bullet, but I bought a Scan Gauge II instead. Neat little gadget.
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 03-12-2011
djfllmn's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: York, PA
Posts: 5,796
^thats what i have...its pretty cool
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 03-19-2011
fratermus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Richardson,
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dixie_boysles View Post
Also, the UG has Max and Min alarms that can be set for each gauge. So say if you have the engine temp max gauge at 205*F like me, and it hits that threshold, it will make an alarm.
Several threads I've read suggest the 2.3 duratec reports head temp on that gauge and not coolant temp, and that UG/SG reported temps of 240-260F are what you see from the "coolant temp" gauge during normal operation. I would be interested from 2.3L UG users and how they have set the temp alarm. I've set mine at 275F for the interim. The UG manual says the Engine Coolant Temperature gauge is "Derived directly from the engine coolant temperature sensor or a cylinder head temperature sensor. Diesels may report engine oil temperature instead"


Looks like everyone that's getting normal coolant temp numbers in the thread has the 4.0

Last edited by fratermus; 03-19-2011 at 05:08 PM. Reason: saw most of the posters had 4.0
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 03-19-2011
SteelDirigible's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 3,666
my UG shows about 188 degrees or so. so 205 sounds about right for a high. thats on a 4.0 as is dixies truck. 2.3 may well be different.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 03-19-2011
SVT01RANGER's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: West Eugene, OR
Posts: 3,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by fratermus View Post
Several threads I've read suggest the 2.3 duratec reports head temp on that gauge and not coolant temp, and that UG/SG reported temps of 240-260F are what you see from the "coolant temp" gauge during normal operation. I would be interested from 2.3L UG users and how they have set the temp alarm. I've set mine at 275F for the interim. The UG manual says the Engine Coolant Temperature gauge is "Derived directly from the engine coolant temperature sensor or a cylinder head temperature sensor. Diesels may report engine oil temperature instead"


Looks like everyone that's getting normal coolant temp numbers in the thread has the 4.0
mine reads pretty high as well and mine is a 2006 2.3L duratec
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 09-18-2011
morris's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Detroit.
Posts: 7,833
in case you canadian guys are looking for metric as an option. they now offer it. ultraguage EM. if you dont wanna buy a new one you can just send in your old unit and they can do the upgrade.

http://www.ultra-gauge.com/ZC/
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 11-17-2011
RangOH's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Madison, Ohio
Posts: 854
Has anyone mentioned the torque app for android yet (or any others)? cheaper and has more features.. heads up display (very cool), diagnostic Codes/w reset. only downside is that you have to use your phone and a cheap obd blutooth adapter. I might get some pics up tomorrow. if anyone is interested.
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 11-17-2011
frosty's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 244
i just got mine yesterday. These little things are awesome. Still playing with it though.
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 06-19-2013
Freestyle Child's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
Does every gauge have to be calibrated ?
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 06-19-2013
01RangerEdge's Avatar
Scrambles the DeathDealer
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jackson, MO
Posts: 7,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freestyle Child View Post
Does every gauge have to be calibrated ?
Yes
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 08-05-2014
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Plainfield, CT
Posts: 144
Awwww dang!! Curse R/F, adding this to my To-Do list. Haha!

I was trying to find a manual for this, anyone know if it is a diagnostic scanner as well?
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 08-06-2014
01RangerEdge's Avatar
Scrambles the DeathDealer
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jackson, MO
Posts: 7,598
It will read trouble codes. The manual is available on their site
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 08-06-2014
99offroadrngr's Avatar
TOYOTA
iTrader: (37)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 11,728
meh. the ultragauge can suck it and yes this gauge is available with different color screens. i went with green because I like the factory look. ltr

Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 06-17-2015
HoJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 36
Has anyone ever actually received their $9 "reward"?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My New Ultra-Gauge dixie_boysles Audio & Video Tech 94 04-28-2011 08:35 PM
Ultra gauge problem newfrank Audio & Video Tech 3 03-17-2011 01:49 PM
ultra gauge... cheaper then scangauge SVT01RANGER General Technical & Electrical 114 08-29-2010 11:38 AM
Ultra Gauge meets Air Freshener t5cents Interior Semi-Tech 21 08-28-2010 07:05 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:02 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.