Ultra-Gauge Support/Ordering Thread - Page 5 - Ranger-Forums - The Ultimate Ford Ranger Resource

Audio & Video Tech General discussion of audio and video for the Ford Ranger.

Ultra-Gauge Support/Ordering Thread

Reply

 
 
 
  #101  
Old 03-12-2011
KLC's Avatar
KLC
KLC is offline
RF Veteran
iTrader: (29)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 13,115
Well I finally bit the bullet, but I bought a Scan Gauge II instead. Neat little gadget.
 
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 03-12-2011
djfllmn's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: York, PA
Posts: 5,798
^thats what i have...its pretty cool
 
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 03-19-2011
fratermus's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Richardson,
Posts: 13
Originally Posted by dixie_boysles View Post
Also, the UG has Max and Min alarms that can be set for each gauge. So say if you have the engine temp max gauge at 205*F like me, and it hits that threshold, it will make an alarm.
Several threads I've read suggest the 2.3 duratec reports head temp on that gauge and not coolant temp, and that UG/SG reported temps of 240-260F are what you see from the "coolant temp" gauge during normal operation. I would be interested from 2.3L UG users and how they have set the temp alarm. I've set mine at 275F for the interim. The UG manual says the Engine Coolant Temperature gauge is "Derived directly from the engine coolant temperature sensor or a cylinder head temperature sensor. Diesels may report engine oil temperature instead"


Looks like everyone that's getting normal coolant temp numbers in the thread has the 4.0
 

Last edited by fratermus; 03-19-2011 at 05:08 PM. Reason: saw most of the posters had 4.0
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 03-19-2011
SteelDirigible's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (4)
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 3,667
my UG shows about 188 degrees or so. so 205 sounds about right for a high. thats on a 4.0 as is dixies truck. 2.3 may well be different.
 
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 03-19-2011
SVT01RANGER's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: West Eugene, OR
Posts: 3,634
Originally Posted by fratermus View Post
Several threads I've read suggest the 2.3 duratec reports head temp on that gauge and not coolant temp, and that UG/SG reported temps of 240-260F are what you see from the "coolant temp" gauge during normal operation. I would be interested from 2.3L UG users and how they have set the temp alarm. I've set mine at 275F for the interim. The UG manual says the Engine Coolant Temperature gauge is "Derived directly from the engine coolant temperature sensor or a cylinder head temperature sensor. Diesels may report engine oil temperature instead"


Looks like everyone that's getting normal coolant temp numbers in the thread has the 4.0
mine reads pretty high as well and mine is a 2006 2.3L duratec
 
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 09-18-2011
morris's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (5)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Detroit.
Posts: 7,836
in case you canadian guys are looking for metric as an option. they now offer it. ultraguage EM. if you dont wanna buy a new one you can just send in your old unit and they can do the upgrade.

http://www.ultra-gauge.com/ZC/
 
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 11-17-2011
RangOH's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Madison, Ohio
Posts: 854
Has anyone mentioned the torque app for android yet (or any others)? cheaper and has more features.. heads up display (very cool), diagnostic Codes/w reset. only downside is that you have to use your phone and a cheap obd blutooth adapter. I might get some pics up tomorrow. if anyone is interested.
 
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 11-17-2011
frosty's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 244
i just got mine yesterday. These little things are awesome. Still playing with it though.
 
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 06-19-2013
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 11
Does every gauge have to be calibrated ?
 
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 06-19-2013
01RangerEdge's Avatar
Scrambles the DeathDealer
iTrader: (11)
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jackson, MO
Posts: 7,598
Originally Posted by Freestyle Child View Post
Does every gauge have to be calibrated ?
Yes
 
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 08-05-2014
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Plainfield, CT
Posts: 144
Awwww dang!! Curse R/F, adding this to my To-Do list. Haha!

I was trying to find a manual for this, anyone know if it is a diagnostic scanner as well?
 
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 08-06-2014
01RangerEdge's Avatar
Scrambles the DeathDealer
iTrader: (11)
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jackson, MO
Posts: 7,598
It will read trouble codes. The manual is available on their site
 
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 08-06-2014
99offroadrngr's Avatar
TOYOTA
iTrader: (37)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 11,728
meh. the ultragauge can suck it and yes this gauge is available with different color screens. i went with green because I like the factory look. ltr

 
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 06-17-2015
HoJo's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 37
Has anyone ever actually received their $9 "reward"?
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
dixie_boysles
Audio & Video Tech
94
04-28-2011 08:35 PM
newfrank
Audio & Video Tech
3
03-17-2011 01:49 PM
SVT01RANGER
General Technical & Electrical
114
08-29-2010 11:38 AM
t5cents
Interior Semi-Tech
21
08-28-2010 07:05 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Ultra-Gauge Support/Ordering Thread


Contact Us Sitemap Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.