Vonhanson's Project Thread - Page 11 - Ranger-Forums - The Ultimate Ford Ranger Resource


Project Logs For detailed builds specific to the Ford Ranger, one thread per vehicle please.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #251  
Old 01-26-2012
Scrambler82's Avatar
Old Guy User… ltr
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6,773
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vonhanson View Post
ha, i looked @ the code in the door jam like 2 years ago, must of mis read it. so when i bought my axle i thought i had 3.73's and i never double checked.

i'm paying for the re gear so that sucks. but i'm glad i have 4.10's lol.
Quote:
Originally Posted by INT3RC3PTOR View Post
oh so thats the deal. your truck actually has 4.10s and the axle was a 3.73?
Quote:
Originally Posted by StxDangerRanger View Post
Rather have the 4.10's
Anyways. Nice you got that figured out. Doing gears sucks.
Just wondering what happened, not like you to buy the wrong thing.

I have asked a local shop, a friend, to get me setup with 4.56 (tires -33’s) but locals are ssssoooo slow at getting pricing together. Not sure why ?

Vonhanson, what size tires you running… again ?
Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old 01-26-2012
StxDangerRanger's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Flat Rock, Mi
Posts: 6,313
the gears themselves don't cost too much, i want to say like $200 bucks in parts, per axle.
Its the labor cost that gets you, putting new gears in is a very meticulous thing and its something very few people still know how to do.
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old 01-26-2012
Scrambler82's Avatar
Old Guy User… ltr
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6,773
Quote:
Originally Posted by StxDangerRanger View Post
the gears themselves don't cost too much, i want to say like $200 bucks in parts, per axle.
Its the labor cost that gets you, putting new gears in is a very meticulous thing and its something very few people still know how to do.
I figured around a grand for frt and rear but I haven’t got a price yet; Gears, rebuild kits, LABOR.

I have done the 9” before not too hard just time but the Dana style looks a lot more interesting, the case needs to be spread to get the stuff in there not to mention shimming, don’t know where that is going, spread case/insert/test/spread insert/test/PITA??? then there is the Pinion to screw with !
Let the other guy do it and have the responsibility of getting it right.
Reply With Quote
  #254  
Old 01-26-2012
Level III Supporter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrambler82 View Post
Boy you are a wealth of knowledge about the guys on this site, lol.

Most Ex Axles are 3.73, was there an option for 4.10, Ranger yes but in the Ex ?
AFAIK, all of the V8 Exploders were either 3.55 or 3.73, but the 4.0 may have had a 4.10 option on the Sport. It seems a bit steep for a factory gearing on a 4.0, though, considering the factory tire size is only a 30" at most.
Reply With Quote
  #255  
Old 01-26-2012
Vonhanson's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Glencoe, Minnesota
Posts: 1,609
The shop that did mine had some 4.10's around there.

it was only like 328 for gears install kit and labor.


but i do have a squeak from the front end, i think its the drivers side. you can't hear it @ faster than 35 mph. but its not affected by the brakes or turning either way(wheel bearing)

any clue to what it would be?


edit: also doesn't matter if the front hubs are locked in or not.
Reply With Quote
  #256  
Old 01-26-2012
hurley's Avatar
Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Belmar NJ
Posts: 1,488
Possibly ball joints. Try jacking it up and checking the wheels for play
Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old 01-26-2012
Scrambler82's Avatar
Old Guy User… ltr
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6,773
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vonhanson View Post
The shop that did mine had some 4.10's around there.

it was only like 328 for gears install kit and labor.


but i do have a squeak from the front end, i think its the drivers side. you can't hear it @ faster than 35 mph. but its not affected by the brakes or turning either way(wheel bearing)

any clue to what it would be?


edit: also doesn't matter if the front hubs are locked in or not.
What kind of squeak, oscillating, on and off or more constant ?

Is something hitting anything ?

Ball Joints if it sounds off when you hit a bump.
Wheel bearing would be more constant.
Sounds like something hitting something else...
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 01-29-2012
Vonhanson's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Glencoe, Minnesota
Posts: 1,609
its def something that rotates. only does it while moving, i can't hear it past 35 mph though.

going @ like 20 mph, i hit brakes and it keeps making the sound, turn hard left or right and no change at all.

it sounds like its only the drivers side. its just been cold and i haven't had time to take a look at it yet.
Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old 01-29-2012
INT3RC3PTOR's Avatar
Veteran Status Achieved
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minnesooooota
Posts: 8,203
ahh cmon, I just had to do a damn fuel pump in the cavy today outside :P
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old 01-30-2012
Scrambler82's Avatar
Old Guy User… ltr
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6,773
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vonhanson View Post
its def something that rotates. only does it while moving, i can't hear it past 35 mph though.

going @ like 20 mph, i hit brakes and it keeps making the sound, turn hard left or right and no change at all.

it sounds like its only the drivers side. its just been cold and i haven't had time to take a look at it yet.
It has to be something related to the gear swap, outside of the diff, something running.

Luck with it and the cold $ucks, although we have had a great winter so far.
Reply With Quote
  #261  
Old 04-03-2012
Vonhanson's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Glencoe, Minnesota
Posts: 1,609
Trucks been going good.

just did a seafoam the other day.

have these to do tomorrow :) motorcraft all the way, along with oil and the oil filter.



hopefully soon i'll be swapping in a bw4406, i really want to get 2wd (unlock my front hubs) and get some better gas mileage.
Attached Thumbnails
Vonhanson's Project Thread-kt63r.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #262  
Old 04-03-2012
INT3RC3PTOR's Avatar
Veteran Status Achieved
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minnesooooota
Posts: 8,203
yeah that would be a nice thing to get done asap too. I can imagine the awd is getting old
Reply With Quote
  #263  
Old 04-03-2012
Vonhanson's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Glencoe, Minnesota
Posts: 1,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by INT3RC3PTOR View Post
yeah that would be a nice thing to get done asap too. I can imagine the awd is getting old
i still get 19-20 on the highway right now, so its way better then what my 3.0 was.

i put cc on at like 37 mph tonight and it was holding still at a solid 24 mpg's

i just know once i get it in "2wd" and i unlock my hubs and have nothing else in the front spinning and dragging, i should see a nice increase too.
Reply With Quote
  #264  
Old 04-03-2012
INT3RC3PTOR's Avatar
Veteran Status Achieved
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minnesooooota
Posts: 8,203
yeah thats really good. after mine was geared correct I think I saw about 18. My 3.0 was like 14 maybe..not like I gave it much chance though..with 35" tires etc lol

you benefit as well cause you actually can have no running gear up front with it unlocked with your year.
Reply With Quote
  #265  
Old 04-19-2012
Vonhanson's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Glencoe, Minnesota
Posts: 1,609
Bad news for the truck today...


I bought a welder. so who knows what awesome things might happen to it. bumpers sliders sas who knows....
Reply With Quote
  #266  
Old 04-20-2012
FULLSCALE's Avatar
Level III Supporter

iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Clinton, Ontario
Posts: 8,181
Sounds good! lol What one did you pick up?
Reply With Quote
  #267  
Old 04-20-2012
Vonhanson's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Glencoe, Minnesota
Posts: 1,609
Its a Lincoln mig weld-pak. just a 110v so nothing heavy duty. but its setup for gas already so it should do the job.

when i got it home, i was doing a few practice beads and looking out at the truck i'm like oh i should do this right away, but i'll wait a bit till i'm better :P
Reply With Quote
  #268  
Old 04-20-2012
FULLSCALE's Avatar
Level III Supporter

iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Clinton, Ontario
Posts: 8,181
I'm going through the same thing... I just picked up a couple welders. I bought a 220v one first and haven't set it up for gas yet. Then I picked up a 110v one with gas and using it to build my cart... if I would have known ahead of time how well it worked I doubt I would have even bought the 220 one!
Reply With Quote
  #269  
Old 04-23-2012
Vonhanson's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Glencoe, Minnesota
Posts: 1,609
Yeah I've been wanting one for a while now.

the other day when i got home from my sisters, one of the brackets broke on the cars exhaust. so i had a legitimate reason to use it :)




Todays update:

dremel:


I did a crappy job of trimming my valance before, and i wanted to fix it before i paint it and make it look nice.

so now it has a nice clean line and gives a tiny bit more clearance.

Attached Thumbnails
Vonhanson's Project Thread-dsc_7871copy.jpg   Vonhanson's Project Thread-dsc_7873copy.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #270  
Old 04-23-2012
StxDangerRanger's Avatar
RF Veteran
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Flat Rock, Mi
Posts: 6,313
Paint?! you? who are you and what have you done with Andrew!
Reply With Quote
  #271  
Old 04-23-2012
FULLSCALE's Avatar
Level III Supporter

iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Clinton, Ontario
Posts: 8,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by StxDangerRanger View Post
Paint?! you? who are you and what have you done with Andrew!
lol I was going to say the same... ABOUT TIME!!
Reply With Quote
  #272  
Old 04-23-2012
Scrambler82's Avatar
Old Guy User… ltr
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6,773
Not to say anyone is right or wrong on what voltage to get but usually the 220 volt units can be used for a longer duty cycle and will put a bead down easier, smoother and will make it harder for someone to borrow it (lol).
Reply With Quote
  #273  
Old 04-23-2012
Vonhanson's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Glencoe, Minnesota
Posts: 1,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrambler82 View Post
Not to say anyone is right or wrong on what voltage to get but usually the 220 volt units can be used for a longer duty cycle and will put a bead down easier, smoother and will make it harder for someone to borrow it (lol).
Yeah, if i had the use for teh 220 i'd totally get one if i had the money.


the smaller one is just cheaper, easier to move around. and i just don't have a huge shop ful of projects to do either.

plus i don't have higher volt hookup in the garage either....
Reply With Quote
  #274  
Old 05-11-2012
Vonhanson's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Glencoe, Minnesota
Posts: 1,609
Hit the 5k mark on the swap.


5k miles since 07/10 haha. obviously i drive alot.
Reply With Quote
  #275  
Old 09-18-2012
Vonhanson's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Glencoe, Minnesota
Posts: 1,609
Not a whole lot happening lately, a ton of stuff i'd like to replace and do but not right before winter.

i need to buy a second vehicle. ha



i'm currently between coats of painting by valence, long overdue i know.

i had a small leak in my radiator, so i decided to spend and get a new one from napa with lifetime replacement.

the new one leaked more than my old one... so i had to wait a few days for a new one to get shipped in.

now the new one is in and leak free now. when i put in my old one, i flushed the system and put a new tstat in.

I finished up my tiny cart for my tiny welder, just some cheap casters on there but its a lot easier than picking it up all the time haha.

Attached Thumbnails
Vonhanson's Project Thread-2012-09-18_17-52-19_160_zps4a8f1fff.jpg   Vonhanson's Project Thread-2012-09-18_17-03-55_662_zps6bc80d95.jpg  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vonhanson is back Vonhanson General Ford Ranger Discussion 12 12-25-2013 10:23 AM
eBay / Craigslist Find: VonHanson's Truck. StxDangerRanger eBay & Craigslist Finds 1 07-18-2013 06:30 PM
Vonhanson Body lift/holy crap load of mods meet up. Minnesota Vonhanson Meets, Greets, & Events 1 04-04-2011 07:06 AM
Vonhanson's SAS Question Vonhanson Solid Axle Swaps 11 03-12-2011 08:29 PM
Vonhanson Truck Mod Meet? Minnesota. Vonhanson Meets, Greets, & Events 7 05-07-2010 09:19 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:06 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.